School Council

School Councils play a key role in Victorian government schools. Participating as a school council member is a rewarding and challenging experience. The school council supports the principal to provide the best possible educational outcomes for students.

School councils have three main responsibilities:

  • Finance – overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation.
  • Strategic Planning – participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan.
  • Policy Development and Review – developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect a school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.

Other key functions of school councils include:

  • raising funds for school-related purposes
  • maintaining school grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts
  • reporting annually to the school community and the Department of Education and Training (DET)
  • representing and taking the views of the community into account
  • regulating and facilitating after-hours use of school premises and grounds

2019 School Council Members

Nell Carswell (President)        Simon McCarthy (Treasurer)       Jemima Collins

Kate Collett                                 Shaun Cooley                                  John O’Callaghan (Vice-President)

Kathy Arnold                              Mark O’Brien                                   Jun Yang 

Sharron Bailey                            Benjamin Zonca

Marcus Wicher (Principal / Council Executive)